Pembroke Dock has reclaimed a unique part of its RAF heritage. The magnificent RAF Pembroke Dock Memorial Window has returned ‘home’, exactly 80 years after it was originally dedicated in the Royal Dockyard Chapel – now the town’s Heritage Centre.
When originally unveiled in October 1945 – just weeks after the end of World War II – the Pembroke Dock window was the first such memorial to be dedicated in the UK to personnel from any RAF station. Then, it was funded by contributions from both the RAF personnel and donations from local residents.
An impressive service at St John’s Church on 26th October 2025, based on the original 1945 dedication service, was followed by a reception at the Heritage Centre, where the exquisite stained glass window has just gone on display. It was previously on view at the RAF Museum, London, for 30 years.
The service was led by the Vicar of Pembroke Dock, the Rev Alexandra Grace, and the address was by the RAF’s Chaplain-in-Chief, the Venerable Giles Legood, who also dedicated the window at the centre. Music at the church and Centre was provided by the RAF Central Band’s Brass Quintet and Piper Graham Phillips, of Pembroke, played at the close of the service.
In a unique connection to history, the Standard of No 201 Squadron, which flew Sunderland flying boats from Pembroke Dock during and after World War II, was paraded into church and the squadron’s commanding officer, Wing Commander Rob McCartney, gave a presentation on the Battle of the Atlantic campaign.
The Lord Lieutenant of Dyfed, Miss Sara Edwards, attended the church service. At the Heritage Centre the Patron of the Heritage Trust, John Evans, welcomed the many guests and supporters who included the High Sheriff of Dyfed, Mrs Ann Jones; the Chair and Leader of Pembrokeshire County Council; the Mayors of Pembroke Dock and Pembroke; Mr Sam Kurtz MS, and the RAF’s Air Officer Wales, Air Commodore Rob Woods. The Centre’s Honorary Padre, the Rev Grayham Passmore, read the wartime poem, High Flight.
With the imminent closure of RAF Pembroke Dock in the late 1950s the window was relocated to Plymouth before going to the RAF Museum in 1994. The window’s return is the culmination of a campaign begun locally over 40 years ago.
The National Lottery Heritage Fund, RAF Historical Society, Maritime Air Trust, squadron associations and many individuals through a JustGiving page supported the window project.

Pictured with the RAF Pembroke Dock Memorial Window are, left to right: Heritage Trust Patron John Evans; High Sheriff Mrs Ann Jones; Chair of Pembrokeshire County Council, Councillor Maureen Bowen; Senedd Member Sam Kurtz; RAF Chaplain-in-Chief, the Venerable Giles Legood; Air Officer Wales, Air Commodore Rob Woods; the Chairman of the Heritage Trust; Rik Saldana; Mayor of Pembroke, Councillor Gareth Jones, and Mayor of Pembroke Dock, Councillor Michele Wiggins. PICTURE: Martin Cavaney Photography
